National Earthquake Hazards Reduction Program (NEHRP) Advisory Committee on Earthquake Hazards Reduction (ACEHR) December 17–18, 2008

University of California, Berkeley, Berkeley, CA <u>AGENDA</u>

Wednesday, December 17 (Fifth Floor Conference Room 542, Davis Hall)

8:30 am – 8:40 am	Review Meeting Goals, Agenda	Chris Poland – ACEHR Chairperson
8:40 am – 8:50 am	Welcome and Opening Remarks	Shyam Sunder – NIST BFRL Director ACEHR Designated Federal Official
8:50 am – 9:00 am	Meeting Logistics	Jack Hayes – NEHRP Director
9:00 am – 10:00 am	Program Update	Jack Hayes – NEHRP Director
10:00 am – 10:15 am	Break	
10:15 am – 11:00 am	ACEHR Next Steps	Chris Poland – ACEHR Chairperson
11:00 am – 11:15 am	FEMA Update	Ed Laatsch – FEMA
11:15 am – 11:30 am	NSF Update	Joy Pauschke – NSF
11:30 am – 11:45 am	USGS Update	David Applegate – USGS
11:45 am – 12:00 pm	NIST Update	Jack Hayes – NEHRP Director
12:00 pm – 1:30 pm	Lunch	
1:30 pm – 3:00 pm	Social Sciences Research and Implementation • Panel Discussion	Chris Poland – ACEHR Chairperson Invited Guests
3:00 pm – 3:15 pm	Break	

3:15 pm – 5:00 pm	Social Sciences Research and Implementation	Chris Poland – ACEHR Chairperson
	• Roundtable Discussion	ACEHR Members, Invited Guests
5:00 pm	Adjourn	

Thursday, December 18 (Fifth Floor Conference Room 542, Davis Hall)

8:30 am – 8:45 am	Meeting Logistics	Jack Hayes – NEHRP Director
8:45 am – 10:15 am	Lifelines Research and Implementation • Panel Discussion	Chris Poland – ACEHR Chairperson Invited Guests
10:15 am – 10:30 am	Break	
10:30 am – 12:00 pm	Lifelines Research and Implementation • Roundtable Discussion	Chris Poland – ACEHR Chairperson ACEHR Members, Invited Guests
12:00 noon – 1:30 pm	Lunch	
1:30 pm – 2:30 pm	PEER Center Overview	Jack Moehle – PEER Center Director
2:30 pm – 3:00 pm	Long-Term Earthquake Centers Funding	Chris Poland – ACEHR Chairperson
3:00 pm – 3:15 pm	Break	
3:15 pm – 4:00 pm	Reauthorization Discussion	Chris Poland – ACEHR Chairperson
4:00 pm – 4:15 pm	Public Comment Period • A maximum of ten 3-minute periods will be avail	able for members of the public to comment
4:15 pm – 4:45 pm	Future Meeting Planning	Chris Poland – ACEHR Chairperson
4:45 pm – 5:00 pm	Concluding Remarks	Shyam Sunder – NIST BFRL Director ACEHR Designated Federal Official
5:00 pm	Adjourn	