National Earthquake Hazards Reduction Program Advisory Committee on Earthquake Hazards Reduction

National Institute of Standards and Technology Gaithersburg, Maryland August 21, 2015

Teleconference Meeting Summary

Advisory Committee Members:

Laurie Johnson, Chair
Jane Bullock**

Laurie Johnson Consulting
Bullock & Haddow LLC

Craig Davis Los Angeles Department of Water & Power

John Gillengerten Consulting Structural Engineer

James Goltz CA Emergency Management Agency

Nathan Gould ABS Consulting

Lisa Grant-Ludwig University of California, Irvine

Robert Herrmann Saint Louis University

John Hooper Magnusson Klemencic Associates

Ronald Lynn** Clark County (NV) Department of Development Services

Peter May University of Washington

Jack Moehle University of California, Berkeley

Lori Peek Colorado State University
Kenneth Stokoe University of Texas at Austin

Ralph Archuleta** University of California, Santa Barbara; Ex-officio member

of ACEHR as Chair of the U.S. Geological Survey (USGS) Scientific Earthquake Studies Advisory

Committee (SESAC)

NEHRP ICC Member-Agency Representatives and NIST Support:

Howard Harary NIST, Engineering Laboratory (EL) Director and

ACEHR Designated Federal Officer

Jason Averill NIST, Chief, Materials and Structural Systems Division

Jack Hayes NIST, NEHRP Director and

ACEHR Alternate Designated Federal Officer

Ed Laatsch FEMA, Chief, Building Science Branch

Joy Pauschke NSF, Program Director, Engineering for Natural

Hazards & Natural Hazards Engineering Research

Infrastructure (NHERI)

Greg Anderson NSF Program Director, EarthScope

Rick Fragaszy NSF Program Director, Division of Civil, Mechanical and

Manufacturing Innovation

^{**} Not in attendance

Dennis Wenger NSF Program Director, Infrastructure Systems

Management and Extreme Events NIST, NEHRP Deputy Director

Steve McCabe NIST, NEHRP Deputy Director Tina Faecke NIST, NEHRP Secretariat

Melissa Banner NIST, Community Resilience Group

Summary of Discussions

I. Review Meeting Goals and Agenda

- a) Laurie Johnson, Chair of the Advisory Committee on Earthquake Hazards Reduction (ACEHR), asked Tina Faecke to call the roll of committee members and others in attendance.
- b) The purpose of the meeting was to review and finalize ACEHR's 2015 draft report on NEHRP effectiveness by obtaining member consensus on the draft report, with any additional edits as discussed and then submit a final report to the National Earthquake Hazards Reduction Program (NEHRP) Interagency Coordinating Committee (ICC) Chair before September 30, 2015. The draft report had previously been posted on the NEHRP web site, accessible for all meeting attendees.

II. Committee Review of Draft Recommendations

The Chair led the committee in reviewing and discussing the draft report, with the help of lead authors of different sections, focusing on the Executive Summary, which was developed by the Chair following the June 12, 2015 teleconference meeting, and the 18 recommendations. She reviewed and approved or disapproved all comments or edits from the members during this discussion.

Executive Summary Section

The Chair summarized the content of this section, noting that it describes the current state of NEHRP, future directions, and an overview of the most critical items. This section was accepted by the Committee without change; however, the 18 individual recommendations were reviewed separately.

Introduction Section

The consensus among the committee members in attendance was that consistent terminology for "critical infrastructure" and "lifeline systems" is needed throughout this section as well as other sections of the report. Craig Davis offered to review and edit the report accordingly. Otherwise, the Committee accepted these paragraphs without change or further discussion.

Program Effectiveness and Needs Section

The Committee accepted the NEHRP *Critical Observation 1* after editing the second paragraph text to clarify the second endorsement reference for the reauthorization.

Jack Moehle suggested rewording the NEHRP *Critical Observation 2*. The consensus was that the first sentence should be shortened and the last sentence should be removed. During the discussion, several committee members agreed that "implementation deficit" should be defined. Since Craig Davis wrote a definition previously, he offered to email it to the Chair for the report.

The Committee accepted the draft NEHRP Office Recommendation without change.

The Committee accepted both draft ICC Recommendations without change.

James Goltz suggested rewording FEMA *Recommendation 1* and revising FEMA *Recommendation 2* to reflect the context of the NEHRP reauthorization. FEMA *Recommendations 3 and 4* were accepted by the committee members without change.

Even though there was no comments from the committee members on NIST *Recommendation 1*, Jack Hayes commented that it would be helpful to NIST if ACEHR would clarify what the Committee is asking NIST to do to improve dissemination of NEHRP-related information and products.

The NSF and USGS Recommendations were all accepted without change.

The Chair then called for a final vote by the committee members to approve the draft report with the amendments discussed during the meeting. The draft report was unanimously approved.

III. Public Input Period

No members of the public registered with the NEHRP Office to provide input for this teleconference meeting, nor did any members of the public join the teleconference.

IV. Adjournment

The Chair asked each member to email any "wordsmithing" or final edits based on the day's discussion to her with a copy to Tina Faecke no later than August 28, 2015. She thanked the committee members for all their hard work in completing the assessment and writing the report. She also thanked the NEHRP agency staff for their helpful participation in the assessment process.

The Chair also asked Tina Faecke to poll the members on available dates for a face-to-face meeting in March 2016. She then adjourned the meeting at 2:40 p.m.